9 Responses to “What’s the difference between Britain, Great Britain and United Kingdom?”

  • ?:

    its all the same. just different names for the country
    like u.s.a. and america,,, different names but same country

  • Bill M:

    Great Britain is the island that contains England, Scotland and Wales. The United Kingdom includes Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

  • Dollah fipty five, plus tax:

    Brits have oversized yellow horseteeth.

    They all say pip pip shall we have a spot of tea Pamela?

    All the men are named Hugh or Reggie and all the women are called Pamela or JoAnna.

  • Joe Goldman:

    Britain and Great Britain are both references for the Isle of Britain (england+Scotland+wales)
    the UK includes England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland, and the Isle of Man

  • Paco:

    “Great Britain” describes the combination of England, Scotland, and Wales, and therefore also includes a number of outlying islands such as the Isle of Wight, Anglesey, the Isles of Scilly, the Hebrides, and the island groups of Orkney and Shetland, but does not include other outlying islands such as the Isle of Man or the Channel Islands.
    United Kingdom has actually had three different meanings over the last three centuries. From 1707 to 1800 it was the United Kingdom of Great Britain. In 1707 Scotland had it’s parliament united with that of England and Wales. From 1801 to 1928 , when Great Britain was united with the island of Ireland it was the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland. After 1928 when the island of Ireland became a seperate republic, except for the 6 counties of Northern Ireland, the term was changed to the United Kingdom of Great Britain and “Northern Ireland”.
    The “great” in Great Britain was used to distinguish the island from the land of the Britons which included the part of France that is known as Brittany. The phrase “Great Britain” is actually 12th century so it goes back to a period before the whole island was unified under one king. At that time, Wales and Scotland were seperate kingdoms.

  • ohmycinderella:

    Uh, spelling?

    Those all pertain to the same country.

  • Keisukei:

    The spelling and everything that Paco has said.

  • Diana Tais:

    Britain and Great Britain are the same thing and they consist of Wales, England and Scotland.

    The United Kingdom (proper name is The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland) consists obviously of the Great Britain (England, Scotland and Wales) and Northern Ireland.

    However, international abbreviation that stands for the UK (England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland), is Not UK but is instead GBR (as in Great Britain, though since Northern Ireland is included, it is a technically wrong abbreviation ).

  • Ying Ding Aing:

    Britain a large island northwest of France. “Great Britain” is essentially synonymous, and refers specifically to the whole island (instead of just England, a constituent country).

    The United Kingdom refers to the three countries of Great Britain (England, Wales, Scotland), plus Northern Ireland (which is technically not a part of Britain, great or small). The United Kingdom sends envoys to foreign states, declares war, mints money, runs the NHS and welfare, and regulates trade, while certain other responsibilities are devolved onto the parliaments of Scotland and Northern Ireland.

    It’s very confusing from any perspective, since it’s not a Federation of states like the USA, but the constituent countries claim a certain number of natural rights to sovereignty from the U.K. parliament.

Leave a Reply

Archived Posts